Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.

Race Tech World Motorsport Motorsport Symposium Award Winners

25 Jan 2012

Arnaud Martin, Ben Bowlby and Flybrid Systems were the recipients of the Race Engine Designer, the Dino Toso Racecar Aerodynamicist and the Most Innovative New Motorsport Product of the Year awards respectively, in a night of celebration during the RACE TECH World Motorsport Symposium.

Arnaud Martin, head of engine design at RML, the leading team which runs the Chevrolet Cruzes in the World Touring Car Championship, produced an entirely new, 1.6-litre engine from a clean sheet of paper. While the blue-and-white cars picked up 21 wins in 25 races, claimed pole position at every single round and led more than twice as many laps as all the other teams combined, what was particularly impressive about this engine was that Arnaud and his small team of engineers produced it in just eight months, on a very limited budget. On receiving the award from Soheila Kimberley, RACE TECH's Publishing Director, Arnaud said that he was grateful that his team's work had been so recognised and honoured and that he was proud to be joining such a prestigious list of previous winners. The Dino Toso Racecar Aerodynamicist of the Year award was presented to Ben Bowlby, for his work in designing the groundbreaking DeltaWing racecar that will be raced in "Box 56" at Le Mans this year. While admitting that the award was going to the designer of a car which had yet to turn a wheel, RACE TECH Editor William Kimberley said that - no matter what happened - 2012 would be the year of the DeltaWing and that Ben was pushing the boundaries which promised a step change in aerodynamic efficiency and fuel economy, as well as improved, safer and closer racing.

To view the full press release, please click here

> Back to news listing